Takes photos and drinks tea

Anne likes to capture everyday life in one way – in the way that humans see and perceive it. Bordering on the edge of quirky, the big picture is one thing, but so are the details, and she feels it’s part of the process to leave no stone unturned; she adopts this practice in all her creative pursuits, as well as with her own life.

Born and raised as a city girl, she craves the outdoors and the English Countryside. However, she also has strong ties with what is perceived as 'home' and is interested in domesticated spaces; generally everything to do with documenting life itself though all mediums. The want to preserve personal memories that she is so terrified of losing is what drives her to do what she does today.

Born and raised in London, England.

The Girl

Anne, a.k.a "3.1", is a train driving competence assessor (formerly a subterranean train driver instructor). Beyond her day job however, she is an unobtrusive photographer and all-round creative being.

Born in the latter part of October 1988 in Bloomsbury, situated in the heart of London. Early years were spent just a stone's throw away from King's Cross Station in Somers Town, before the family relocated to London's East End. As a child of immigrant parents, she experienced a difficult childhood, framed by her love of music (studying classical piano from the age of 6), which often results in the views she has on life today.

With an INFP Myers-Briggs type, you’ll find that 3.1 is not your usual introvert (they’re not always they shy and retiring type, you know) and thus enjoys a good chinwag with a good friend or two over a gin and tonic. She also loves good music, good food, chocolate and cats. Bizarrely, she also has an unhealthy interest in London Underground (despite working for them) and its rich heritage, but you'd never think she was an enthusiast.

3.1 has lived on pretty much all points of the city – North, South, East and West – but has found she much prefers the West at the moment, what with living right next to the River Thames, with Chiswick and Kew just a stone's throw away. Nestled amongst the narrowboats, canal locks, and a marina, 3.1 lives with her better-skilled other half (he also drives trains), far too much stuff, and a Brompton bicycle. (But, unfortunately, no cats.)


Birkbeck, University of London (2017–)
BA Linguistics and Language (Japanese)

Glasgow Caledonian University (2015-2017)
DipHE Railway Operations Management (Institution of Railway Operators)

City & Guilds (2018, 2017, 2016, 2007-2009)
Facilitate Learning And Development for Groups
NVQ Level 3
Assessing Competence in the Work Environment
NVQ Level 3
Facilitate learning and development for individuals NVQ Level 3
Rail Transport Operations (Passenger Services) NVQ Level 2

The Open University (2012)

St. Angela's & St. Bonaventure's VI Form College, Forest Gate (2005 – 2006)
Mathematics, Physics, Graphic Products, General Studies

St. Angela's Ursuline Convent School, Forest Gate (2000 – 2005)
English, English Literature, Science (Double Award), Mathematics, Statistics, Music, D&T: Graphic Design, Religious Education, French, ICT

Newham Academy of Music, East Ham (1997 – 2006)
Piano, Music Theory

St. Michael's RC Primary School, East Ham (1994 – 2000)

Memberships & Affiliations

Member (Neasden Branch, Distirct 8)

The Institution of Railway Operators
Affiliate (South East)

The London Library

The Royal Meteorological Society
Associate Fellow

The Royal Photographic Society
Member (London Chapter)